I want to know if this truck for sale is a scam.?
I was searching on craigslist.com and came upon a 2006 dodge ram SRT-10 for only $5400. the owner sent me an e-mail. the guy says that he wants to do the transaction through ebay motors. he said that after I complete the deposit I will have 10 days to test it out before he gets the money. he says he had just moved to quebec, canada. he is offering to handle shipping free and says that an "ebay refund policy" will be enforced on the transaction. he also says that he wants to start the whole procedure himself. I specifically asked for his phone number and in the e-mail he sent me it didn't mention his phone number at all. he wanted to know my full name and the shipping address. this was what the e-mail said: Hello, Thanks for your email! First of all I would like to tell you that the car is located in Quebec, Canada as I recently moved here. I received a good job here and along with the job I received a company car a new Range Rover gas expenses free. I have no use for Dodge RAM anymore and I will not spend a fortune to register it here so I am forced to sell it much below the US market value. The full price is $5,400 US dollars with shipping included to your location. I have a clean title ready to be signed, you will test drive the car for 10 days after you complete the deposit to eBay. The car has no electrical or mechanical problems, never been involved in any kind of accidents. For our protection we can use eBay Motors to complete the transaction. The deal will go strictly according to eBay rules and policy. In order to start the official transaction, I need to know your details: - Full name and Shipping address As soon as I have them, I'll start the official procedure and eBay service will notify you about this. I'll handle the shipping, so this will be free of charge for you. We will use eBay Motors to manage the payment because it is the safest way for both of us and also you will have 10 days to inspect the car before I receive the money. Also, an eBay refund policy will be included. 2006 DODGE RAM SRT-10 VIN: 3D3HA18H36G198004 Miles: 23,400 CREW PICKUP 8.3L V10 SFI REAR WHEEL DRIVE The car is immaculate inside and out! No smokers, no pets! Click here to view more car pictures and details: http://i638.photobucket.com/albums/uu105/2006dodgeRam/ Best wishes, Luke does ebay even hold money for you and does the ebay refund policy even exist?
Public Comments
- Definitely a scam. People who want to send and receive stuff are usually lying. and a 2006 dodge ram for 5000? you gotta be kidding me Who knows about that ebay stuff. But why would he get ebay involved when he's already on Craigslist? thats how you know its a scam
- Dear Luke, I know you want to believe this is all real and legit. The way I read all the info you provided it really really seems like an elaborate scam. Mark my words .. I am right about this ! don't do it !
- First of all, as long as the actual payment and transaction takes place within ebay and paypal or thier escrow company then yes you will be covered in most cases. However, Do Not, I repeat Do not complete, engage, or otherwise correspond or do buisness outside of thier system or you will find yourself out of money. Ask him for a free carfax report, or do one yourself using the VIN number and this will tell if the auto is legit or not.
- that car is worth way more then that ! if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is. Do not send this person any money they are going to try and get an money out of you now, and he will keep emailing you. asking you to make the deposit. what you can do is send an email to ebay and tell them the situation or you can call and they can help you. Something similar happened to me. and I called ebay and the next day they canceled the persons acct.
- This is so a scam notice you do not need to do the transaction through ebay motors and he wants the car really fast?? whats up?? and also he gets a free car from a company that he just started working at also NOTICE: Free Gas Expense Tell him to give you his # and his work adress and his company he works at so you can look at his company and the adress!!-----RainFlake PS: Good luck on your car searching^-^
- The offer is legit, but someone else bought the truck (Sorry!). However, I know where you can get $100 bills American currency for just $20 USD each. Please email me if you want the address of the seller. I bought several myself. I'm waiting for them in the mail. They'll be here any day, I'm sure.
- If you pay him through Paypal you will be covered incase it is a scam. Paypal will give you your money back if you file a complaint with them if the seller doesn't come through.
- Your kidding right? If not I have a couple of bridges to sell you. One is in Arizona and the other is in San Francisco. Of course it's a scam. Think about it 1.He's selling it below blue book? 2.He's willing to pay the shipping? Try this, If you were in the same circumstance would you sell a 15-25,000 dollar vehicle like that? DONT EVEN TALK TO THIS GUY.
- This IS a scam! My parents tought me that if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Keep shopping, but use extreem caution when dealing with strangers and used cars. Good luck.
- How about you start reading those BIG warnings on CL apges nect time??? [ OFFERS TO SHIP CARS ARE 100% FRAUDULENT ] [ avoid recalled items ] [ partial list of prohibited items ] [success story?] [ AVOIDING SCAMS & FRAUD ] [ PERSONAL SAFETY TIPS ]
- Of course it's a scam. But yo already know that, right?
Powered by Yahoo! Answers