MLM Directory

Any intern experiences w/ RichFox Media? Are they a scam? Why do they need applicants' financial info?

I applied to them through their Craigslist ad and received an email today requiring me to sign up for "trial services" in order to be "seriously considered". An online seemingly fake "press release" dated February 2010, states they "recently came out of a stealth mode and began test marketing its products in: New York, Los Angeles and Chicago. Over the last 2 years, a team of seasoned engineers and marketing executives have developed three products: free online university, a website builder for small businesses and video community for filmmakers." >> http://www.prlog.org/10551199-richfox-media-online-marketing-agency-emerges-amidst-recession.html << Firstly, their article has clear ERRORS: it states they've developed 3 products, but only touches on 1 - the 'free online university'. What are the other two? It also states the company just "came out of stealth mode" (in February), but the email I received today in response to my Craigslist submission, stated they were still "currently in stealth mode", which is 10 months later. Here are further RED FLAGS/CONCERNS:... 1) requiring un-screened applicants to release financial info for free-trial services, just to be "further considered" is very SUSPICIOUS, 2) the website, which explains little about their business, has been continuously down, 3) the number provided in their email to me is inoperable - keep getting beeping noise, 4) out of all prior posts on RichFox Media, I have not heard any legitimate accounts from past interns and their experiences. 5) for a tech-based company, its bizarre they don't have a blog or community forum. ...RichFox Media seems untrustworthy and deceitful to say the least. Can someone else provide any UP-TO-DATE answers on this company? please view further info at this link: http://www.ripoffreport.com/directory/RichFox-Media.aspx Its oddly suspicious that the 3 initial answers to my questions were 1) ALL written exactly 17 hours ago, 2) from users that ALL became members on March 5, 2010 with 3) ALL similar-looking avatars and generic names... I'm still waiting for a legitimate answer. And RichFox Media claims to be cutting edge with internet platforms, yet I cant even find their profile on any social web sites - not even on Linkedin or Facebook!! Nor is there any information on any of the manager names that keep getting mentioned. I've never heard of a startup being that secretive and unaccessible during the hiring process. Remember - the number they give in their email is a NON-WORKING phone number!! RichFox Media is just plain shady, shady, shady...

Public Comments

  1. I have interned for RichFox Media and I can attest that they are a legitimate startup. If you are skeptical about their application process, I would urge you to get in touch with Lauren and explain your concerns. I had a fun time working with them. I learned a lot about online marketing, learned how to first build websites in HTML/CSS, then wordpress and joomla. I can't disclose much details about all of the work that I did due to the NDA that I signed with the company.
  2. Wait, they asked for what? I worked with them in the past and don't remember being asked to sign up for anything. They are a legitimate startup, I am not sure if someone else is trying to pose like them, but I went through job application process and interview without much concern, got my internship there and worked with them during June and July. I did most of the work from home, but had weekly conference calls with them. Yea, ask Lauren if it's ok not to sign up or ask them if they have another application. Company is legit, but the application process does sound a bit sketchy.
  3. Company is legit, worked with them, learned a lot. I referred a couple of my friends to work there. I didn't realize that they were hiring again, I would definitely intern there again, but I got a better salary offer from the full time job I currently have.
Powered by Yahoo! Answers